This is an official website of Indian Philatelists' Forum * Join Indian Philatelists' Forum * This is an official website of Indian Philatelists' Forum

Philatelic issues related to Indian Themes issued by Foreign Countries

Ashoka Pillar (Lion Capital)

Ashoka Pillar is the most celebrated pillar with the lion capital at Sarnath erected by the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka in circa 250 BC, also called as "Asoka Column". Here, four lions are seated back to back. At present the Column remains in the same place where as Lion Capital is at the Sarnath Museum, 10 km from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. It has four back-to-back Indian lions.The four lions symbolize power, courage, confidence and pride. This Lion Capital of Ashoka from Sarnath has been adopted as the National Emblem of India and the wheel "Ashoka Chakra" from its base was placed onto the center of the National Flag of India.

Originally a wheel (Wheel of Dharma / Ashoka Chakra, a wheel with 24 spokes) was placed over the lion capital and was mounted on a stone pillar near Dhamek Stupa (44 m in height and 28 m in diameter) at Sarnath. It was 15.25 m high monolithic polished Chunar sandstone pillar (0.71 m diameter at the base and 0.56 at the top) over which the Lion Capital was erected by the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka.

Sr. No.
Name of Countries
Issue Date / Year
Cuba 15/08/1997 (Single) With Gandhi
Guinea Bissau 2011 (Souvenir Sheet)
Reunion Island 1985-86 (Postmark)
07/06/1986 (Postmark)
Vietnam 1989 (Single)

Viewers are requested to inform us about missing information in listing provided in this section.

Go to TOP